WY Financial Literacy Workgroup Meeting Recap

During the second Financial Literacy Workgroup meeting on November 30, members learned that currently, 9 out of Wyoming’s 48 school districts have a financial literacy graduation requirement.

Following a discussion with Wyoming Superintendent of Public Instruction, personnel from Wyoming Department of Education joined the Financial Literacy Workgroup this week at their second meeting and provided an overview of the status of financial literacy education in Wyoming.

Laurie Hernandez, Director of Standards & Assessments and Barb Marquer, Standards Supervisor joined the group and shared how financial education is incorporated into Wyoming’s Standards, the Standard review and development process and where opportunity may exist for more robust incorporation of financial literacy education.

They shared the Wyoming Board of Educations Profile of a Wyoming Graduate which includes life skills and possess skills in personal finance including compensation, cost of living, budgets, credit/loans, taxes, etc.

School districts who have adopted graduating requirement include the following:

Converse County School District #1

Converse County School District #2

Goshen County School District #1

Lincoln County School District #1

Natrona County School District #1

Park County School District #6

Sheridan County School District #1

Sweetwater County School District #1

Uinta County School District #4

The Workgroup plans to discuss hurdles to financial literacy requirements from a School District Superintendent at their next meeting in December/January.

Posted in Advocacy on the Move, Wyoming Advocacy.