Who is Running for Office in Oregon?

In what is a longstanding tradition in the State of Oregon, lobbyists, legislators, and the general public fill the Oregon House chamber on candidate filing day to watch the board fill up with filed candidates.  Filing Day, March 12th, is the day that all candidates must file with the OR Secretary of State’s office to declare their candidacy.  Now the candidate boards are electronic, but in years past, staff would have to physically go to the board to add names to the list.  It is a time that all involved in Oregon politics come together to kick-off the election season.

So, what’s up for the 2024 election?

With the Supreme Court ruling that many Senators who walked out in the 2023 legislative session may not run for their Senate seats, two of those Senator’s decided to run for statewide office.  Senator Dennis Linthicum (R-Klamath Falls) is running for Secretary of State.  The two leading Democratic candidates are current Treasurer Tobias Read and State Senator James Manning.  Senator Brian Boquist (R-Dallas) who is also not eligible to run for his Senate seat, threw his name in the race for State Treasurer, running against likely opponent State Senator Elizabeth Steiner.

On the Congressional side, five of Oregon’s six House members filed to run for office.  Congressman Earl Blumenauer is retiring this year and the race to fill his seat has seven Democrats and three Republicans to replace him.  The other very competitive seat is Cong. Lori Chavez-DeRemer who will face her Democratic challenger in either State Representative Janelle Bynum or her opponent from the last election. Jamie McLeod-Skinner.

There are many competitive primary races in the Oregon House and Senate.  Former Governor candidate Christine Drazen is taking on the current House member James Hieb in the Republican primary in Canby.  Senator David Brock Smith from Port Orford on the Oregon Coast received three other primary challengers.  One retirement of note, is longtime credit union supporter Rep. Paul Holvey (D-Eugene).




Posted in Advocacy on the Move, Oregon Advocacy.