Oregon Supreme Court bars Republican senators who participated in walkout from reelection

The Oregon Supreme Court ruled Thursday that 10 Republican state senators who staged a record walk out in the 2023 legislative session cannot run for reelection.  The decision upholds the secretary of state’s decision to disqualify the senators from the ballot under a voter-approved measure aimed at stopping such boycotts. Measure 113, passed by voters in 2022, amended the state constitution to bar lawmakers from reelection if they have more than 10 unexcused absences.

Of those 10 lawmakers, six have only one legislative session left in their terms. Two of the six, Bill Hansell (R-Pendleton) and Lynn Findley (R-Ontario) have announced they will retire when their term ends and it was expected others planned to retire.  Others include:  Sens. Brian Boquist (I-Dallas), Dennis Linthicum (R-Klamath Falls), Tim Knopp (R-Bend) Art Robinson (R-Cave Junction), Suzanne Weber, (R-Tillamook), and Daniel Bonham (R-The Dalles).

The full story can be read here. 


Posted in Advocacy on the Move, Oregon Advocacy.