Idaho’s Primary Election Results Finalized, Four Incumbents Lose Their Seats

On Wednesday, the Idaho Secretary of State began certifying what can only be described as a bizarre 2020 Primary Election in Idaho.  Faced with the impact of COVID-19, the State of Idaho moved to an absentee or mail-in only balloting process for the first time in its history.  Following a lawsuit that extended the deadline to formally request a ballot and the requirement for all ballots to be submitted by June 2nd, we are seeing the dust settle from election communication and political wrangling, across all platforms.  As everything begins to calm down from the election proceedings, we see a few surprises, some heated races shaping up for November’s General Election, and a number of familiar faces. 

In the active U.S. Senate Race, we will see incumbent Senator Jim Risch (R) battling former 2018 gubernatorial candidate Paulette Jordan (D), who lost to Governor Brad Little (R) in well contested race. 

The four incumbent members of the Idaho Legislature who lost in the primary include Jarom Wagoner (R – Caldwell – 10A), Bryan Zollinger (R – Idaho Falls – 33B), Jerald Raymond (R – Menan – 35A), and Britt Raybould (R – Rexburg – 34B).  With the unfortunate passing of Representative Thyra Stevenson (R – Lewiston – 6), last month, Governor Little has appointed Aaron Von Ehlinger t0 fill the vacant seat, following his successful bid for that District 6 seat. 

As it stands now, the Idaho Legislature will have at least 21 new or freshman members of the body, with two candidates having previously served in the Legislature.  We will see what the General Election will bring, but our need to educate and advocate only continues as we see turnover in our state legislatures.  

Posted in Advocacy on the Move.